ON-Lion Letter
The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation in Milwaukee has announced that one of four 2009 Bradley Prizes will be awarded to The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies.  Accepting the award on behalf of the Society will be its founders and leaders.

The Federalist Society was founded in 1982 by Spencer Abraham, Steven G. Calabresi, David McIntosh, and Lee Liberman Otis while they were law students.  Under the leadership of its president, Eugene B. Meyer, and executive vice president, Leonard Leo, the Society has since expanded into a nationally prominent legal institution.

The award will be presented during a ceremony to be held at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, June 3.  The award carries a stipend of $250,000.

"The Bradley Foundation selected the founders and leaders of the Federalist Society for their ingenuity in forming and nurturing an organization dedicated to preserving rule of law," said Michael W. Grebe, the Foundation's president and chief executive officer.  "The Federalist Society has become a vital resource in American legal education."

With more than 40,000 members, the Federalist Society includes a student chapter at each of the more than 200 law schools accredited by the American Bar Association and a lawyers chapter in 70 major cities.

"Through the Bradley Prizes, we recognize individuals like the founders and leaders of the Federalist Society who have made outstanding contributions, in hopes that others will strive for excellence in their respective fields," Grebe said.
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |