ON-Lion Letter

Fourteen states cut taxes in the 2014 legislative year, according to a December report from the Center for State Fiscal Reform (CSFR) at the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) in Washington, D.C.  The tax-policy changes enacted by states reflect an emphasis on pro-growth reforms that encourage economic expansion and competition.

The 14 tax-cutting states are Arizona, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, and Wisconsin.

Of these 14 states, many were repeat tax cutters.  Kansas, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Florida, Indiana, and Ohio all significantly reduced taxes in both the 2013 and 2014 legislative sessions. 

Meanwhile, Minnesota, New York, Rhode Island, and Maryland all enacted reductions to death taxes in the form of increasing the amount of income exempted from the tax.

"Overall, the economic evidence strongly suggests that states with lower tax burdens and more economic freedom regularly outperform their higher tax and more restrictive counterparts," according to the report, State Tax Cut Roundup:  2014 Legislative Session.

"Creating a tax and fiscal policy climate that is conducive to economic growth should be a top priority for every state," it continues.  "Hopefully, the example set by these reforms, and their economic results over time, will persuade other states to pursue pro-growth tax reform ...."

The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation in Milwaukee substantially supports ALEC's CSFR.

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |